VFW 2120 Awards East Robertson Middle School Essay Participants

VFW 2120 Awards East Robertson Middle School Essay Participants
Posted on 03/07/2019

The Robertson County VFW Post 2120 hosted its annual Patriot Pen essay contest last fall with a deadline of October 31, 2018.  “Why I Honor the American Flag” was the essay topic; and thirty East Robertson Middle School students submitted entries. 


Members from VFW Post 2120 recognized the following students in a ceremony held in the school auditorium on January 23, 2019:  Kaitlyn Blair, Kamryn Bobinger, Brooklyn Brown, Bryce Corbin, Ryan Dawdy, Jaxon Day, Katie Denney, Kayla Evans, Zac Farmer, Emily Gibson, Nathan Gibbs, Hayden Gillihan, Elizabeth Hooper, David Hunt, Darby Inman, Valerie Jones, Nick Marlin, Carson Melton, Travis Morris, Sara Newberry, Tad Patterson, Wyatt Pearson, Jaxson Rooney, Haley Seay, Tuff Slate, Ty Slate, Conner Sneed, Matthew Swearingen, Dylan Thomson, Hayden Wiktorek, Noah Williams, Aaliyah Zemba.  Each participant was given a patriotic coin holder and ink pen.


All East Robertson Middle School essay winners received a certificate and medal.  Monetary awards were a $100 check for first place, Carson Melton;  $75 check for second place, Matthew Swearingen; and $50 check for third place, Nick Marlin.  Winning essays are forwarded to the district, state, and national levels.  National winners are honored at the VFW 2019 Legislative Conference in March 2019.  Scholarship opportunities are available for grades 9-12 each year, and students in grades 6-12 are encouraged to enter the future annual VFW essay contests.


  • 800 M. S. Couts Blvd, Suite 2, Springfield, TN 37172
  • 615-384-5588
Robertson County Schools