Crestview Elementary Hosts Annual District-wide Spelling Bee

Crestview Elementary Hosts Annual District-wide Spelling Bee
Posted on 04/27/2017

Crestview Elementary School hosted the Robertson County Spelling Bee, sponsored by the Robertson County Education Association, on Thursday, April 20.  In order to compete, students had to place in the top three spellers for their grade in their local school’s spelling bee.


Robertson County Schools supervisor of middle schools Chris Causey was the pronouncer for the evening.  Assistant director Stephanie Mason, along with Central Office staff members Cathy Empson and Cheryl Killebrew served as judges.


In the grade 4-5 competition, the winner was Cameron Conner (Krisle), with Hannah Williams (Jo Byrns) taking second place.  The winning word was, “wonderful.”


Krisle principal Angel Williams praised Conner, saying, “We are so proud of him. He worked really hard".


When grades 6, 7, & 8 competed, Brittany Morton (Jo Byrns) emerged the winner with Summer Copeland (Jo Byrns) earning second.  The winning word for this group was, “reciprocate.”


Jo Byrns Elementary principal Sarah Jane Moore noted the competitive drive of her two students.  The two previously won first and second place in their sixth grade year, with Copeland emerging as the top speller in that contest.


Competing in this year’s event and listed by school were:


                                                                                                                                                                         East Robertson Elementary School

                 4th grade                                            5th grade

Madison Ausbrooks                         Bryce Corbin

Tyler Chandler                                              Dawson Garrett

Calvin Francis                                                Audrey Grant

                   Greenbrier Elementary School

4th grade

Cameron Franklin

Luke Reynolds

Emily Wooten

                       Jo Byrns Elementary School

4th grade                                             5th grade

Alyssa Mitchell                                               Tryston Gibson

Jayden Myers                                    Emma Ogg

Rileigh Raines                                                Hannah Williams


                         Krisle Elementary School

4th grade                                             5th grade

Jabraylon Ellis                                                   Cameron Connor

Moises Viveros                                                   Colton Hutchison

                                                                Mac Gregory


                          Coopertown Middle School

6th grade                                             8th grade

Hayden Pittman                                            Marlene Martin

Tre Frazier                                         William Bibee

Jacob Morgan                                    Zoey Johnson


                           Jo Byrns High School


6th grade                7th grade              8th grade

Kristin Gregory    Marshall Traughber       Brittany Morton

Nick Boles         Austin Charpentier Kalie Morrison

Sydney Hall      Jackson Towe                       Summer Copeland


                          Springfield Middle School


6th grade                    7th grade                    8th grade

Kennedy Francis               Brady Perkins    Ryan Bradshaw

De’Vazjah Scharkley  Nyrecia Pleasant       Tiffany Padilla Gutierrez

Brianna Dunbar                Britthny Perez    Caleb Northington






  • 800 M. S. Couts Blvd, Suite 2, Springfield, TN 37172
  • 615-384-5588
Robertson County Schools