Chamber of Commerce Honors Educators Making a Difference

Chamber of Commerce Honors Educators Making a Difference
Posted on 03/14/2016

Four Robertson County district teachers and one principal were honored at the annual “Making a Difference,” awards presented by the Robertson Education Initiative at the Chamber of Commerce’s quarterly After Hours program on Thursday, March 10.


Kathy Gunn, director of REdI, said the process of choosing the winners was difficult and that they truly represented the quality of district teachers as a whole. 


Clifton Horn (East Robertson High School), Jan Wallace (Greenbrier High School), Sandra Salazar (Springfield High School), Tom Adkins (Jo Byrns High School), and Breanne Oldham (Heritage High School) were the teachers chosen to receive the special recognition and a $300 gift.


Greenbrier High principal Katie Osborne was awarded recognition and for partnering with area business and civic organizations, allowing for job shadowing and intern opportunities to GHS students. 

State Senator Kerry Roberts was on-hand at the awards ceremony as well, and presented each of the recipients with a citation
for their achievement recognizing them on behalf of the State of Tennessee .


More than 200 RCS seniors took part in an online survey to provide input on their favorite teachers.   Gunn observed that a common denominator among all who were nominated was that they went beyond simply educating and made a personal influence on their students.

Pictured Left to Right: Senator Kerry Roberts, GHS Principal Dr. Katie Osborne, GHS educator Jan Wallace, SHS educator Sandra Salazar, Heritage High Educator Breanne Oldham, ERHS educator Clifton Horn, RCS Director of Schools Mike Davis.

  • 800 M. S. Couts Blvd, Suite 2, Springfield, TN 37172
  • 615-384-5588
Robertson County Schools