District Announces New Educators Of The Year

District Announces New Educators Of The Year
Posted on 01/28/2022

Every year, the Tennessee Department of Education recognizes outstanding educators, leaders, and school staff in the state with awards for their meritorious service and devotion to students.  Before being considered on a state level, nominees for teacher of the year are selected in five cycles:  school, district, region, and grand division. The other two categories are selected in  four cycles beginning at the district level. Robertson County Schools has selected the following district recipients for this year’s Teacher of the Year, Principal of the Year and Supervisor of the Year awards. 


Teacher of the Year: Mr. Josh Vaden  -  Springfield High School

Principal of the Year: Mrs. Cecilia Earheart  -  White House Heritage Elementary School

Supervisor of the Year: Mrs. Melanie Dickerson  -  Assistant Director, Robertson County Schools


Mr. Vaden has taught English at Springfield High School since 2012, and is currently the school’s English Department Chair, and Technology Coach. 


Regarding his selection he said, “I am honored to have been nominated for the Tennessee Department of Education’s Teacher of the Year Award and am grateful for the opportunity to represent Robertson County Schools through this process. Strong public schools are the foundation of any community, and it is a pleasure to serve and represent a school district I believe is emblematic of that type of strong foundation.”


Mrs. Earheart has been teaching in Robertson County since 2008 and has been principal of White House Heritage Elementary School for the past two years.


She echoed Mr. Vaden’s sense of modesty, saying, “I am truly honored to be chosen as Robertson County’s Principal of the Year. This title is even more humbling when I think of the number of outstanding administrators in this county. As the challenges posed by the global pandemic persist, I feel extremely fortunate to have such incredible peer support. During these trying educational times, it is imperative we continue to generate positivity in our schools. With each other’s support, we will conquer these daily educational challenges because we are Robertson County educators.”


Supervisor of the Year, Melanie Dickerson is currently the district’s Assistant Director.  She began her education career with Robertson County Schools in 1981 at Westside Elementary in Springfield.  She served in several schools before coming to the Central Office in 2007 as a supervisor.  She was named as Assistant Director in 2021.


She responded to her selection, saying, “As an educator, I am blessed to serve with colleagues who persistently collaborate for the purpose of providing the best possible learning outcomes for students and for ministering to their families.  I have tremendous respect for the individuals I work with daily, and it is an honor to be recognized by them. 


Each of these three recipients are now eligible for consideration as the regional nominee in their respective category.  Robertson County Schools congratulates each for their well-deserved selection and is thankful for the work ethic they exemplify and their steadfast commitment to the students of Robertson County.



  • 800 M. S. Couts Blvd, Suite 2, Springfield, TN 37172
  • 615-384-5588
Robertson County Schools