Seventy-Six Receive Diplomas at 2016 Winter Graduation Ceremonies

Seventy-Six Receive Diplomas at 2016 Winter Graduation Ceremonies
Posted on 01/18/2016

Robertson County Schools held its Winter Commencement on Friday, January 8th, 2016.  Seventy-six students from all six high schools were represented in the ceremony that was held before a capacity crowd at the Springfield Civic Center.

The graduates entered the Center to “Pomp and Circumstance”, performed by the Robertson County Community Band. The audience continued to stand as the Junior Air Force R.O.T.C., under the direction of MSgt. Douglas Holland, presented our nation’s colors as the Community Band played the National Anthem.

Opening remarks were made by Dr. William Locke, Secondary Education Supervisor.  After recognizing special platform guests, Ms. Stephanie Mason, Assistant Director of Schools and  Mr. Mike Davis, Director of Schools, delivered remarks to the graduates.  Graduates who were entering any of the Armed Services upon graduation were asked to stand and be recognized. 

Next, the Robertson County Band, under the direction of Mr. Chris Reeves, performed “Music of the Waters” as special music for graduates and guests.

The keynote speaker for the evening was Ms. Connie Hogan, chair of the Robertson County Board of Education.             

Students recognized as graduating as Tennessee Scholars were Savannah Maerae Burns and Katelyn Marie Slusser—Greenbrier High School, and Kaleigh Anne Allen—Springfield High School.  Tennessee Scholars take a more rigorous curriculum and must complete at least 80 hours of volunteer and community service.

The following students were recognized as graduating with Honors, achieving a 3.5 or higher grade point average throughout their entire high school career:  Mary Lee Bradley, East Robertson High School; Savannah Maerae Burns, Greenbrier High School; Gabrielle Maria Frederick, Greenbrier High School; Konnie Nichole Hutcherson, Greenbrier High School; Katelyn Marie Slusser, Greenbrier High School; Anna Ruth Clary, Jo Byrns High School; Kaleigh Anne Allen, Springfield High School; Karci Lynn Finch, Springfield High School; Sean Michael McAvoy, Springfield High School; William Hayse McGahey, Springfield High School; Gabriel Emery Brownfield, White House Heritage High School. 

Graduating seniors who met all four benchmarks for the ACT were recognized as graduating with State Honors.  These students were Anna Ruth Clary, Jo Byrns High School; Savannah Maerae Burns, Greenbrier High School; Thomas Allan Dolash, Springfield High School; and Gabriel Emery Brownfield, White House Heritage High School.

The evening’s highlight was the presentation of diplomas to the graduates.  The principal from each school called out the graduates’ names as Director Davis presented them with diplomas.  Board members representing each school also offered congratulations to each of the graduates. 


Diplomas were conferred to the following students during the ceremony: 

East Robertson High School:  Bradley Dakota Baird,  Heather Ashley Baker, Mary Lee Bradley, Corey Tyler Braswell, Bailey Jordan Brewer, Jesse Allen Burnette, Josten Lee Clayborn, Chasedy Lee Hammond, Bailey Marie Parks,  Brad Lee Poole, Bryan Aaron Shetley, Tyler Glenn Starr, and Danial Bryce Strain. 

Greenbrier High School:  Brandon Michael Bryant, Savannah Maerae Burns, Stephen Wayne Chowning, Ethan Clay Collins, Cameron Lawrence Cryer,  Gabrielle Maria Frederick, Brandon Nicolaie Gardner, Dylan John Hardison,  William Charles Henley, Konnie Nichole Hutcheson,

Pate Stuart Jansen, Sydney Lane Justice, John William Lydon, Jessica Laten O’Neal, Meagan Paige Jordan Roberson, Austin James Skaare, Katelyn Marie Slusser, Brandon Wade Sprouse, Dalton Edward Stocks, Cru Tristian Stracener, Hope Lynn Thomason, and Katlyn Anna Young.

Jo Byrns High School:  Maranda May Bross,  Anna Ruth Clary, Kyle Landon Cornell,  Austin Lee Crawford, Ian James Haley, Austin Drake House, Katlin Elizabeth Lemmons, James Russell Mayes, Amberlyn Meichele McIntosh, Corey Ray Mitchell, Dylan Ray Pulley, Cameron Jarrett Schutt, Jonathan Gage Shaw, Ronald Cory Shelton, Zechariah Adam Temple, and Jennifer Valdez Cerrito.

Springfield High School:  Kaleigh Anne Allen,  Codie Lee Bradley, Nelson Miller Brake, Dustin Wayne Chowning,  Thomas Allan Dolash, Makayla Michelle Farmer, Karci Lynn Finch, Chelsea Jordan Fisher, Timothy Tyler Holtman, Trevell Ronnell Hyde, Sean Michael McAvoy, William Hayse McGahey, Robert Tonuchie Newton, Trey’vell Dupree Rice, Sandra Patricia Roblero, Jennifer Leann Sensing, Dinedra Shambrai Smith, Kaitlin Dorothea Smith, Lexus Alize Stone, Jamoni Carliece Wilson, Robert Allen Winfree, III, and Raven Alyssa Zarth.

White House Heritage High School:  Gabriel Emery Brownfield and Jason Daniel Blake Dillard.

Robertson County Virtual School:  Charles Cooper King


  • 800 M. S. Couts Blvd, Suite 2, Springfield, TN 37172
  • 615-384-5588
Robertson County Schools